Classification of the Partially Edentulous Arch

By Dr. Vishaal Bhat on Saturday, 12 January, 2008 with 0 comments

The most commonly used classification system is the Kennedy Classification. This system classifies the patient by the most posterior edentulous area:

  • Class I - Bilateral distal extension
  • Class II - Unilateral distal extension
  • Class III - Unilateral tooth supported
  • Class IV - Anterior edentulous span crossing the midline

Other edentulous areas anterior to the classifying area are referred to as modification spaces. So a patient could be a Kennedy Class II mod 1,2,etc.

Category: Prosthodontics Notes



Post a Comment